Daniel Schaffner, Dr. iur. Advokat

Daniel Schaffner is an an Associate with ADVOTECH ADVOKATEN. As an attorney-at-law he specialises in administrative law, particularly environment, health and security (EHS) as well as in white collar crime and environmental criminal law. He serves his clients in a litigating as well as advisory capacity.

Daniel Schaffner studied law at the University of Basel. After graduating worked as scientific assistant for criminal law as well as for private law and as lecturer at the Faculty of Law of the University of Basel and completed a research residence at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Crime, Security and Law in Freiburg i. Br., Germany. He received his doctorate for a thesis in international criminal law. After clerking for different courts, in the administration, the public prosecutor’s office and law firms, Daniel Schaffner passed the bar in the Canton of Basel-Landschaft. Consequently, he worked as assistant prosecutor in the Cantonal Prosecutor’s Office Aargau, which specialises on white collar crime, before joining ADVOTECH ADVOKATEN as attorney-at-law.

Daniel Schaffner authors legal publications and is a member of the editorial board of the journal Basler Juristische Mitteilungen (BJM).

Since 2018, Daniel Schaffner has been serving as a judge at the Expropriation Court of the Canton Basel-Landschaft Tax. In 2021, he was elected as a member of the Bar Examination Commission of the Canton Basel-Landschaft.

Core competences: Administrative Law, White Collar Crime and Environmental Criminal Law
Publication list

Daniel Schaffner, Dr. iur. Advokat

Daniel Schaffner ist Associate bei ADVOTECH ADVOKATEN. Er ist als auf Verwaltungsrecht, insbesondere Umwelt, Gesundheit und Sicherheit (EHS), sowie Wirtschafts- und Umweltstrafrecht spezialisierter Rechtsanwalt tätig. Die Interessen seiner Klientschaft wahrt er vor Gerichten und wirkt beratend.

An der Universität Basel studierte Daniel Schaffner Rechtswissenschaften. Nach dem Lizentiat war er als wissenschaftlicher Assistent für Strafrecht und Privatrecht und Lehrbeauftragter  an der Juristischen Fakultät in Basel tätig und absolvierte einen Forschungsaufenthalt am Max Planck-Institut zur Erforschung von Kriminalität, Sicherheit und Recht in Freiburg i. Brsg. Er promovierte mit einer Arbeit im internationalen Strafrecht. Im Anschluss an Praktika bei Gerichten, der Verwaltung, der Staatsanwaltschaft und in der Advokatur legte Daniel Schaffner das basellandschaftliche Anwaltsexamen ab und arbeitete in der Folge als Assistenzstaatsanwalt bei der auf Wirtschaftskriminalität spezialisierten Kantonalen Staatsanwaltschaft Aargau bis er seine Tätigkeit als Rechtsanwalt bei ADVOTECH ADVOKATEN aufnahm.

Daniel Schaffner ist Autor juristischer Fachpublikationen und Mitglied der Redaktion der Zeitschrift Basler Juristische Mitteilungen (BJM).

Seit 2018 amtet Daniel Schaffner als Richter am Steuer- und Enteignungsgericht Basel-Landschaft, Abteilung Enteignungsgericht. 2021 wurde er als Mitglied der Anwaltsprüfungskommission Basel-Landschaft gewählt.

Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte: Verwaltungsrecht, Wirtschafts- und Umweltstrafrecht
Publikationsliste